Literary Kicks

  Visit the general discussion board or view list of boards

Beat Connections in Music

I began this list years ago, and quickly realized I couldn't keep up with all the lyrics, comparisons and other beat/music references people kept sending me. So I transplanted the list to this format -- please add any entries you can think of! -- Levi

117. madman ashcroft by  katshuactive Thursday, Jun 7 at 3:28 AM
116. Beat Reference in Auteurs Song by  Arco Tuesday, Jun 5 at 12:23 PM
115. Richard Buckner and Tom Waits by  lisajude Monday, Jun 4 at 11:14 PM
Tom Waits "Alice"? by  symbolist Monday, Jun 11 at 8:45 PM
114. led zeppelin by  feral911 Friday, Jun 1 at 2:02 PM
113. SOnic YoUtH by  ecstatic Monday, May 14 at 1:55 PM
check out... by  feral911 Monday, May 28 at 9:02 AM
112. 'The New Beat Poets'-a call to all writers with literary balls! by  Kiley Jon Clark Friday, Apr 20 at 9:55 PM
Yeah by  Jim Lee Saturday, Apr 21 at 4:50 PM
To Jim Lee by  Kiley Jon Clark Saturday, Apr 21 at 9:34 PM
i'm game... by  god Saturday, Apr 28 at 11:17 PM
my thoughts by  fountainhead05 Saturday, May 5 at 11:36 PM
read this buddy by  fallen_angel Thursday, May 10 at 11:57 AM
in accordance by  lauret Thursday, May 10 at 1:24 PM
my thoughts on yr thoughts by  ecstatic Tuesday, May 15 at 3:39 PM
111. The Gun Club by  ScreechOwl Friday, Apr 20 at 9:08 PM
110. Black Crowes by  onlyacrow Friday, Apr 20 at 1:21 PM
109. William S. Burroughs and the doors by  Danny Allyn Thursday, Apr 19 at 10:47 PM
The Doors, Michael McClure, and X by  Tabloid Footprints Saturday, Apr 21 at 7:29 PM
beat references in doors lyrics by  punching holes Monday, Apr 23 at 9:30 PM
108. They Might Be Giants(please, just hear me out!) by  Tabloid Footprints Monday, Apr 16 at 1:48 AM
not to put too fine a point on it.... by  feral911 Friday, Apr 20 at 10:26 PM
107. Midget Handjob-Midnight Snackbreak at the Poodle Factory by  symbolist Sunday, Apr 15 at 9:53 PM
Yeah, I thought that was Keith Morris! by  Tabloid Footprints Monday, Apr 16 at 1:41 AM
106. Lou Reed, John Cale, and Nico by  Well Off Pauper Friday, Apr 13 at 8:05 PM
another beat link for nico... by  feral911 Friday, Apr 20 at 11:06 PM
Really? by  Tabloid Footprints Saturday, Apr 21 at 7:19 PM
Reed and Burroughs by  AngelHeadedHipster Tuesday, Apr 24 at 6:14 AM
John Cale by  ScreechOwl Tuesday, May 1 at 2:17 AM
connection by  nada Friday, May 18 at 12:02 PM
105. wanna make music with Pamela by  aashish Monday, Apr 9 at 11:19 PM
104. Local musicians--Whitehorse by  melford12 Monday, Apr 9 at 8:42 AM
103. GOMEZ by  Rip Sunday, Apr 8 at 4:19 PM
102. Richard Thompson by  melford12 Thursday, Apr 5 at 12:57 PM
101. Billy Joel by  Wintas33 Tuesday, Apr 3 at 4:11 PM
100. Bob, Basement Tapes, The Band by  Lucienbeat Monday, Apr 2 at 3:28 PM
99. Digable Planets by  saxrust Thursday, Mar 22 at 8:19 AM
Mood Dudes Groove by  Ole Tangerine Thursday, Mar 22 at 12:22 PM
98. David Grey's video by  KimberlyMichelle Monday, Mar 19 at 7:56 PM
oh of course by  star33 Thursday, Mar 22 at 6:31 AM
97. Medeski Martin & Wood by  Ole Tangerine Saturday, Mar 17 at 8:58 PM
96. Fantastic Plastic Machine by  Ole Tangerine Saturday, Mar 17 at 8:44 PM
Good song by  Miss Modular Tuesday, Apr 3 at 8:42 AM
who? by  MNROSES Thursday, May 3 at 6:45 PM
95. Erik Truffaz by  Ole Tangerine Saturday, Mar 17 at 8:39 PM
94. UNDERWORLD by  Rip Wednesday, Mar 14 at 11:59 AM
93. Beatles and Beat? by  user2342 Tuesday, Mar 13 at 4:32 PM
Allright by  Rip Wednesday, Mar 14 at 8:17 AM
Mersey Beat and Silver by  user2342 Friday, Mar 16 at 8:14 AM
Johnny and the Moondogs??? Bah!!! by  user2342 Friday, Mar 16 at 6:40 PM
Yes. by  Miss Modular Tuesday, Apr 3 at 8:48 AM
92. Morphine by  Rip Tuesday, Mar 13 at 8:15 AM
yes. by  punching holes Saturday, Mar 24 at 10:36 PM
:) by  Doctor Proteus Sunday, May 6 at 12:47 PM
91. jeff buckley by  prophet Thursday, Mar 8 at 10:21 PM
yes! by  CaityCat Friday, Mar 9 at 10:42 AM
Damn Right!! by  Severein Monday, Mar 12 at 12:12 PM
one more thing by  Jim Lee Wednesday, Apr 4 at 7:07 AM
Tell me more by  Jim Lee Monday, Apr 9 at 8:22 AM
Tell me more by  Jim Lee Monday, Apr 9 at 8:23 AM
90. the velvet underground by  cristella Tuesday, Feb 27 at 11:52 AM
89. New band, Drunkin Ghost by  Shagz Monday, Feb 26 at 5:52 PM
88. 10000 Maniacs by  Vladimir Saturday, Feb 24 at 8:35 AM
PST/Q by  Vladimir Saturday, Feb 24 at 2:49 PM
87. buster poindexter by  kelasher Wednesday, Feb 21 at 6:08 AM
new york dolls by  sangsara Monday, Apr 2 at 9:58 AM
meanwhile, back in the states!!!!!!!!!!!!!! by  sal p. Friday, Apr 27 at 12:21 PM
buster and david jo by  brooklyn Friday, Jun 1 at 12:56 PM
86. Mamas and the papas by  sangsara Friday, Feb 16 at 9:49 PM
mugwumps and crecque alley by  brooklyn Monday, Feb 19 at 8:06 PM
85. Steppenwolf by  sangsara Friday, Feb 16 at 9:46 PM
defending steppenwolf by  bpoetd Tuesday, Apr 24 at 8:19 AM
84. Ryuichi Sakamoto by  melford12 Thursday, Feb 15 at 9:44 AM
83. Huey Lewis and the News by  niblo Wednesday, Feb 7 at 9:42 PM
His mother... by  Miss Modular Tuesday, Apr 3 at 8:44 AM
His step father by  hayduke Thursday, Apr 12 at 5:02 PM
I heard this too by  brooklyn Friday, Jun 1 at 12:58 PM
82. Pearl Jam by  Jim Lee Wednesday, Feb 7 at 7:59 AM
81. Tom Waits by  derelictmindset Wednesday, Feb 7 at 5:35 AM
80. Nine Inch Nails by  derelictmindset Wednesday, Feb 7 at 4:58 AM
This isn't NIN, it's Ministry by  firstborn Tuesday, Mar 27 at 7:39 PM
79. Rage Against The Machine by  derelictmindset Wednesday, Feb 7 at 4:44 AM
People of the Sun 10" by  somedaydave Thursday, Apr 19 at 6:34 PM
78. Robert Zimmerman!! by  Gray Neep Tuesday, Feb 6 at 11:17 AM
yeah by  PeterJB Wednesday, Apr 4 at 10:36 PM
77. The Kinks by  niblo Monday, Feb 5 at 9:40 PM
76. The Go-Go's by  jessica_p Monday, Feb 5 at 2:23 PM
75. Johhny Topper and his Beatnik Buddies by  mark Sunday, Feb 4 at 10:43 PM
74. BHG by  CaityCat Thursday, Feb 1 at 9:57 AM
73. Gong by  Zero Monday, Jan 29 at 11:38 AM
' its all much to serious to be serious about' .....daevid allen by  octave-doctor Saturday, Jun 9 at 12:30 PM
72. Lyle Lovett by  kelasher Saturday, Jan 27 at 9:40 AM
71. Paul McCartney by  shaw Thursday, Jan 25 at 7:19 AM
Paul McCartney, Lenny Kaye & Philip Glass by  Ianderthal Monday, Feb 19 at 1:30 PM
70. Steve Allen by  shaw Thursday, Jan 25 at 7:14 AM
kerouac records producer alive in cleveland!!!!!! by  sal p. Wednesday, May 30 at 11:51 AM
69. They Might Be Giants by  shaw Thursday, Jan 25 at 7:09 AM
Oops by  shaw Thursday, Jan 25 at 9:25 AM
That's okay ... by  brooklyn Saturday, Jan 27 at 8:20 AM
68. Manic Street Preachers by  ilovehoovering Tuesday, Jan 23 at 3:43 PM
67. students need your help! by  Dr. Needyourhelp Sunday, Jan 21 at 1:27 PM
Beat Punks by  Stephanie Friday, Feb 2 at 4:01 PM
Beat/Music Book by  pottygok Thursday, Feb 8 at 7:57 AM
Burroughs in rock and underground pop music by  Ianderthal Monday, Feb 19 at 1:20 PM
look at the present by  tripling27 Thursday, Mar 1 at 10:52 AM
vedder by  fellinieye Tuesday, Mar 13 at 12:56 AM
HELP FOR STUDENTS by  bruce Wednesday, Apr 4 at 8:51 AM
66. Bare Naked Ladies by  Wyldemyst Thursday, Jan 18 at 6:07 AM
65. another list to draw from by  broo Tuesday, Jan 16 at 4:11 PM
64. Aztec Two-Step by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 8:32 AM
63. Belle and Sebastian by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 8:15 AM
62. Soul Coughing by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 8:14 AM
sugar fee jazz by  frichi Saturday, Jan 20 at 4:19 AM
hey frichi by  brooklyn Saturday, Jan 20 at 5:52 AM
Manna from Hell by  zenchild Tuesday, Jan 23 at 4:23 PM
i highly recommend this band as well by  derelictmindset Wednesday, Feb 7 at 5:32 AM
61. Eric Anderson by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 8:11 AM
60. Marillion by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 8:03 AM
59. The Incredible String Band by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 8:02 AM
Be Glad For The Song Has No Ending by  octave-doctor Saturday, Jun 9 at 12:42 PM
58. U2 by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:59 AM
Joshua Tree Beatitudes by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:03 PM
U2/Bono and Ginsberg by  homer-dog Monday, Jan 29 at 5:24 PM
U2 & Ginsberg by  dwim Monday, Feb 5 at 5:49 PM
57. R.E.M. by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:59 AM
yes by  aaron Friday, Jan 19 at 12:46 PM
That's right! by  LeahW. Friday, Feb 2 at 8:27 PM
"Star Me Kitten" by  melford12 Wednesday, Jan 31 at 9:32 AM
56. The Go-Betweens by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:57 AM
55. Bad Religion by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:56 AM
54. The Washington Squares by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:55 AM
53. Willie Alexander by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:54 AM
Lowell Blues by  Ianderthal Monday, Feb 19 at 9:15 PM
52. Dexy's Midnight Runners by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:51 AM
51. Al Stewart by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:48 AM
50. Paul Winter by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:47 AM
49. Philip Glass by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:42 AM
Hydrogen Jukebox anyone? by  Charles Wednesday, Jan 24 at 4:53 PM
Yes -- should have mentioned that by  brooklyn Saturday, Jan 27 at 8:22 AM
More Glass by  LeahW. Friday, Feb 2 at 8:25 PM
48. Skinny Puppy by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:40 AM
47. Ministry by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:38 AM
Bill's Stories by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:11 PM
oops by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:13 PM
46. Material by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:22 AM
45. Iggy Pop by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:18 AM
Iggy Pop "Lust For Life" by  melford12 Wednesday, Jan 31 at 9:30 AM
didn't know that! by  brooklyn Saturday, Feb 3 at 7:58 AM
44. David Bowie by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:16 AM
43. Jethro Tull by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:11 AM
42. Janis Joplin by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:10 AM
41. Frank Zappa by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:09 AM
40. Van Morrison by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:08 AM
39. Loudon Wainwright III by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:06 AM
38. Tom Waits by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:04 AM
Another thing... by  dwim Monday, Feb 5 at 3:54 PM
Tom And Bill by  Jim Lee Wednesday, Feb 7 at 7:48 AM
Diamonds on My Windshield by  bebopdaddy Tuesday, Apr 3 at 4:19 PM
more waits by  sal p. Monday, Apr 30 at 12:19 PM
37. Chuck Berry by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:02 AM
re; c. berry by  sal p. Tuesday, May 1 at 8:50 AM
36. Red Hot Chili Peppers by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 7:00 AM
Re: Red Hot Chili Peppers by  ChiLiPhiSh Tuesday, Jan 16 at 7:08 AM
not fogetting.... by  feral911 Friday, Apr 20 at 11:27 PM
35. Blue Oyster Cult by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:59 AM
34. Mott the Hoople by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:56 AM
33. Cornershop by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:55 AM
32. Nirvana by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:55 AM
31. 10000 Maniacs by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:52 AM
I'm Hooked! by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:19 PM
that's called cross-selling son by  xian Tuesday, Feb 20 at 1:47 PM
30. Laurie Anderson by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:50 AM
29. Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprasy by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:49 AM
28. Beastie Boys by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:48 AM
Ad-Rock's family by  Ianderthal Monday, Feb 19 at 9:18 PM
27. The Clash by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:46 AM
26. Jim Carroll by  brooklyn Friday, Jan 12 at 6:45 AM
25. Patti Smith by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:56 PM
Crow by  LeahW. Monday, Jan 29 at 10:00 PM
Patti's Footnote by  Ianderthal Monday, Feb 19 at 9:26 PM
24. Steely Dan by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:52 PM
Re: Steely Dan by  Cat Tuesday, Jan 16 at 6:54 PM
23. Soft Machine by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:50 PM
gong and the soft machine by  octave-doctor Saturday, Jun 9 at 1:00 PM
22. King Crimson by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:49 PM
21. The Doors by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:44 PM
Blake, Morrison, and the Beats by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:40 PM
break on through by  bpoetd Tuesday, Apr 24 at 8:27 AM
20. The Beatles by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:43 PM
19. The Fugs by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:39 PM
18. They Might Be Giants by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:36 PM
17. Donovan by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:34 PM
Season of the Witch by  mark Sunday, Feb 4 at 10:40 PM
sunshine superman and the pied piper by  octave-doctor Saturday, Jun 9 at 12:51 PM
16. Cracker by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:31 PM
15. Jawbreaker by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:28 PM
jets to brazil by  punching holes Saturday, Mar 24 at 10:57 PM
Jawbreaker by  somedaydave Thursday, Apr 19 at 6:37 PM
14. Rage Against The Machine by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:27 PM
Re: Rage Against The Machine by  broo Tuesday, Jan 16 at 4:06 PM
Nihilistic Rage by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:43 PM
13. Smashing Pumpkins by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:27 PM
RE: smashing pumpkins (and tristessa) by  CaityCat Thursday, Feb 1 at 9:52 AM
12. Blake Babies (Juliana Hatfield) by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:24 PM
11. Henry Rollins by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:23 PM
10. The Boo-Radleys by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:22 PM
9. Machines of Loving Grace by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:20 PM
8. Sonic Youth by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:17 PM
addition by  Rip Thursday, Mar 15 at 11:39 AM
Also.... by  dan_w58 Sunday, Apr 1 at 11:16 PM
7. Weezer by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:12 PM
to brooklyn by  heina Saturday, Jan 27 at 10:51 AM
6. Graham Parker by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:09 PM
5. Richard Hell by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:03 PM
4. Velvet Underground by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 8:01 PM
Re: Velvet Underground by  morocco Tuesday, Jan 16 at 5:29 PM
Re: Velvet Underground by  brooklyn Wednesday, Jan 17 at 1:00 PM
Re: Velvet Underground by  morocco Wednesday, Jan 17 at 8:45 PM
3. Pink Floyd by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 6:23 PM
Searching For "It" by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:49 PM
Set the Controls... by  AngelHeadedHipster Monday, Apr 23 at 6:26 AM
2. Bob Dylan by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 6:18 PM
Bob is Sooo Beat by  garlak Friday, Jan 26 at 5:53 PM
"Vomit Express" by  LeahW. Tuesday, Jan 30 at 12:51 PM
Emerson, the Beats, and Dylan by  BrandonZ Thursday, Mar 15 at 7:55 PM
subterranean homesick blues by  sangsara Monday, Apr 2 at 10:15 AM
1. Grateful Dead by  brooklyn Thursday, Jan 11 at 6:01 PM
Mexicali Blues? by  CrazyFleur Sunday, Feb 18 at 12:52 AM
A little, but lemme look closer. by  chuckaroe Monday, May 21 at 8:40 PM


log in or create account to post messages


View All Boards



Literary Kicks